PREVIOUS     |     HOME     |     TOC      |     ABR      |     NEXT

This law is one which primarily begins to impress the divine purpose upon the consciousness of the aspirant, and dictates to him those higher impulses and those Spiritual decisions which mark his progress upon the Path. It is the demonstration of the first Ray quality (a subray influence of the second Ray), for it should be remembered that to repulse a form, a situation or a condition may be the evidence of Spiritual love in the agent of repulsion. This is well pictured for us in the ancient symbol of the Angel with the flaming sword, who stands before the gate of Paradise to turn away those who seek the fancied security of that shelter and condition. This angel acts in love, and has so acted down the ages, for that state of realisation which we call Paradise is a place of essential danger for all, save those who have earned the right to sojourn there.

  1. The Law of Sacrifice                        The Petals of Sacrifice
  2. The Law of Magnetic Impulse                 The Petals of Love
  3. The Law of Service                        The Petals of Knowledge

This fourth Law of Repulse works through the first Law of Sacrifice and carries to the aspirant the quality, influence and tendency of the Spiritual Triad, the threefold expression of the Monad. Its full force is felt only after the third initiation, in which the power of the Spirit is, for the first time, consciously felt. Up to that time it has been the growing control of the Soul which was primarily registered. Therefore we have:

  1. The Law of Repulse

Atma. Spiritual Will. This Fourth Law influence comes via the Egoic petals of sacrifice and the subsidiary Law of Sacrifice.

  1. The Law of Group Progress

Buddhi. Spiritual Love. This Fifth Law comes via the love petals of the Egoic lotus,and the subsidiary

Law of Magnetic Impulse.

  1. The Law of Expansive Response

Manas. Higher Spiritual mind.  This Sixth Law comes via the knowledge petals and the subsidiary Law of Service.

These higher Spiritual laws reflect themselves in the three lower Spiritual laws, finding their way into the lower consciousness via the Egoic lotus and the Antahkarana. This statement is the second basic postulate in connection with our study of this Law of Repulse, the first postulate being the earlier statement that unless there is a thread of light to act as a channel, that which this law conveys will remain unknown and unrealized.

These six laws give us the key to the entire psychological problem of every human being, and there is no condition which is not produced by the conscious or unconscious reaction of man, to these basic influences—the natural and Spiritual laws.


The three major laws are:

  1. The Law of Economy, which governs primarily the instinctual nature of man.

  1. The Law of Attraction, which governs the Soul aspect in man and in all forms of life, from an atom to a

   solar system.

  1. The Law of Synthesis, which will govern man when he has arrived at the Path of Initiation, but which as yet means but little in his development.


PREVIOUS     |     HOME     |     TOC     |     NEXT