PREVIOUS     |     HOME     |     TOC      |     ABR      |     NEXT

The seven states of consciousness are— beginning from the first or lowest:

Mental Plane

  1. Lower mental awareness. The development of true mental perception.

  1. Soul awareness or Soul perception. This is not the perception of the Soul by the personality, but the registering of that which the Soul perceives by the Soul itself. This is later registered by the lower mind. This Soul perception is, therefore, the reversal of the usual attitude of mind.
  2. Higher abstract awareness. The unfoldment of the intuition and the recognition of intuitive process by the lower mind.

Buddhic Plane

  1. Persistent, conscious, Spiritual awareness. This is the full consciousness of the Buddhic or intuitional level.  This is the perceptive consciousness which is the outstanding characteristic of the Hierarchy. The life focus of the man shifts to the Buddhic plane. This is the fourth or middle state of consciousness.

Atmic Plane

  1. The consciousness of the Spiritual will as it is expressed and experienced upon Atmic levels or upon the third plane of divine manifestation. There is little that I can say about this condition of awareness; its state of nirvanic awareness can mean but little to the average disciple.

Monadic Plane

  1. The inclusive awareness of the Monad upon its own plane, the second plane of our planetary and solar life.

Logoic Plane

  1. Divine consciousness. This is the awareness of the whole on the highest plane of our planetary manifestation. This is also an aspect of solar awareness upon the same plane.

As we strive to arrive at some dim comprehension of the nature of the work to be done in building the Antahkarana it might be wise, as a preliminary step, to consider the nature of the substance out of which the "bridge of shining mind stuff" has to be built by the conscious aspirant. The oriental term for this "mind stuff" is chitta; it exists in three types of substance, all basically identical but all qualified or conditioned differently. It is a fundamental law in this solar system, and therefore in our planetary life experience, that the substance through which divinity (in time and space) expresses itself is karmically conditioned; it is impregnated by those qualities and aspects which are the product of earlier manifestations of that Being in Whom we live and move and have our being. This is the basic fact lying behind the expression of that Trinity or Triad of Aspects with which all the world religions have made us familiar.

This trinity is as follows:


1.  The Father Aspect

This is the underlying Plan of God.


The essential Cause of Being.


Life purpose motivating evolution.

The note of synthetic sound.

Utilizes the sutratma.

2.  The Son Aspect

The quality of sensitivity.


The nature of relationship.


The method of evolution.


The note of attractive sound.

Utilizes the consciousness thread.

3.  The Mother Aspect

The intelligence of substance.


The nature of form.

The Holy Spirit

Response to evolution.

The note of Nature.

Develops the creative thread.


PREVIOUS     |     HOME     |     TOC     |     NEXT